Alex M.'s Mexico Blog



Just a couple days in Mexico…

It is kind of amazing how much a couple days can hold.

Yesterday, when I woke up there was not a cloud in the sky and the sun was shining finally! Sol and I walked into town so that I could get a better idea of how to get places by foot.  I got a glimpse of my school and it looks beautiful, tomorrow I start the orientation week for international students.  It will be nice to chat with some people in english for a bit lol.  After walking around the city a little bit more we went to see the Museum Mummies in another part of the city. It was quite interesting and I saw the smallest mummy in the world.  Afterwards I accompanied Sol to one of her cousin’s houses (she has many many cousins) for a birthday celebration.  It started off with just a couple of family members sitting around the table for dinner and then more and more arrived and it was a real fiesta I guess you could say.  There were aunts and uncles, nephews and nieces, grandmothers and grand-daughters, second-cousins with lots of dancing.  It was all very merry and I was really happy to be a part of it.

Today was another nice day but not as warm.  Sol and i went out on another adventure in the early afternoon.  First we visited some of her friends who were from puerto rico and are building a house here.  It’s not finished yet but it was beautiful and they were very interesting.  A little while later we continued into the city again to check out the Pipila statue that overlooks the city.On our way into the city we came across a parade.  There were multiple batallions of drummers and a group of girls dressed in beautiful white dresses on their way to their first communion.  For some reason I found it really moving.  Lovely, lovely, lovely. I remembered my camera this time so I took a couple pictures while i was up there. Well I look forward to the next couple days again!  I miss you all! P.s. I gave my family a bottle of good maple syrup and they seemed very pleased!

Ciao!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lynn says:

    Hola Alex: Great blog! Your host family sounds wonderful and they have already ‘adopted’ you I see. Keep the blog going. There are LOTS of us who are interested to hear about your adventures. Saludos, Lynn….and remember that no matter how cold it gets in Guanajuato, there is snow here !!
    P.S. I will get you that information re: conservation & turtles.

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 3 months ago


Leave a comment